2D Art – What’s possible?

After roughly laying out the 2D art object planes, I needed to define the specific constraints I would be working in.

Firstly I standardised the aspect ratio of the objects

…and defined the most effective resolutions for the objects using random images from google, this made it easy to see whether a size was effective or ineffective.

After this, I then created planes in Maya, with UVs that are the proper ratio (1:4, 1:8, 1:16 for example) so that I’m painting on rectangle texture maps. This gives me the maximum use of resolution.

My first test was to see whether or not I could make an effective neon sign, purely from 2D images.

It has a few problems, but I’m optimistic about the amount of flexibility in using 2D planes to generate interesting decorations for a game environment.

Leave a Reply

